Dressember Review, Week 2

The first full week of Dressember is done! I’ve raised $150 of my $500 goal! The average advocate raises about $100, but by working together we’ve already been able to raise $500K! I’m so thankful to be part of a global community of women making a difference.

Once again, I’m sharing where every item in my wardrobe came from. I don’t just want to raise money to fight exploitation once a year; I want to avoid supporting exploitation with my money every day. That’s why I’ve made a move towards more thrifted clothing, and purchasing a few pieces as possible from companies who are doing the right thing.

[For last week’s review, go here]

[For the “rules” of my personal Dressember Challenge, go here]

This week, you’ll start seeing more repeat items, dresses and otherwise. My wardrobe is pretty small right now, and I’m okay with that. I’ve gotten rid of the things I don’t wear, and I’ve started filling in the gaps with basic items I can wear with everything. That means some items are in very heavy rotation for the time being, like the cardigans I wear a lot in the winter.

Day 1

Dress: Thrifted
Sweater: Bought new (in high school, I think)
Leggings: Thrifted
Shoes: Keen shoes

Day 2

Dress: Lularoe*
Leggings: Bought new**
Boots: Bought new
Scarf: Gift or bought new
Watch: Sprout – made from biodegradable corn resin and eco-friendly cork

Day 3

Dress: Bought new
Sweater: Thrifted
Tights: Bought new
Shoes:  Vegetarian shoes

Day 4

Dress: Yard sale
Sweater: ThredUP
Tights: Bought new
Shoes: Bought new

Day 5

Dress: Thrifted
Sweater: Thrifted
Leggings: Bought new
Shoes: Keen shoes

Day 6

Dress: Thrifted
I bought this dress a few months ago, and I’m pretty in love with it (this photo doesn’t really do the lace credit). I’ve been saving it for December as my “Christmas dress.” This week I wore it for a tea party I helped host.
Shrug: Bought new
Leggings: Thrifted
Shoes: Vegetarian Shoes
Pearl necklace: Thrifted

Day 7

Skirt: Thrifted
Shirt: Hand-me-down
Cardigan: Thrifted
Leggings: Thrifted
Shoes: Keen

*I have mixed feelings about Lularoe. Their website states that they make many of their items in the U.S., and pay fair wages in the international factories they work with, but I can’t find much detail beyond this. [See Dress Well Do Good’s profile on Lularoe] I bought this dress when I was able to get it 50% off through a family member, but I would love to have more information about the company’s practices before I choose to buy from them again.

Leave a Reply

