Dressember Review, Week 1

It has been almost a full week since Dressember started, and I am having a lot of fun while also seeing friends and family become more aware of human trafficking issues. A few have already donated to my campaign, but I’m still a long way from my $500 goal, so I’d greatly appreciate your help!

One of my other purposes behind Dressember was to give a glimpse into my wardrobe and show that it is possible to have fun with fashion without taking part in the exploitation of garment workers.

My wardrobe is definitely a work in progress. Over the last few years, I’ve mainly begun by slowing down on my purchasing of clothes. A lot of the items I’m wearing this month are things I have owned for 3+ years. While they weren’t ethically made, I feel that it’s an ethical choice to continue wearing them as long as I can. Many of the other items, especially my dresses, are purchased from thrift stores. This is usually the most budget-friendly ethical choice, and budget is a big restriction for me at this stage in life. I am making an effort to introduce new, ethically produced items into my wardrobe, trying to focus on things that are difficult to find second-hand (especially shoes), and purchasing items which will last a long time. I’ve also made a few “mistakes,” but I’m trying to do better as I learn better.

Below, I’ve noted whether each item was thrifted, gifted, bought new (2+ years ago unless otherwise noted), or where they were purchased from. Remember that according to my personal Dressember challenge rules, I will only wear one “bought new” dress per week (i.e. I will wear thrifted or ethically made dresses the other days), and I can wear one skirt per week.

Here are my outfits from the first week of Dressember!

Day 1

Dress: Thrifted
Tights: Bought new
Boots: Same
Scarf: Gift
Gloves: I actually have no idea, but I know I didn’t buy them. Either a gift or hand-me-down.

Day 2

Dress: Bought new
Leggings: Bought new
Shoes: Bought new recently from Keen*
Sweater: Thrifted

Day 3

Dress: Thrifted
Tights: Bought new
Boots: Bought new
Scarf: Bought new

Day 4

Top: Thrifted (sweater and tank)
Skirt: Thrifted
Leggings: Thrifted
Shoes: Bought new from Vegetarian Shoes (made ethically in Spain)
Earrings: Locally handmade (bridesmaid gift from a friend’s wedding)

*At the time, I was under the impression that Keen assembled their products in the U.S., and bought them as a moderately ethical and budget-friendly choice. It turns out it is only a subset of their products, mostly hiking boots. I probably won’t buy from them again unless this changes. Live and learn.

So, there it is! I’ll be back next week with another update. In the meantime, follow me on Instagram @andriahjonesΒ to keep up with my daily outfits and human trafficking Β information.

-Andria

2 thoughts on “Dressember Review, Week 1

Leave a Reply

