Things I’m Loving Thursday – July 2016

I love sharing new things I’m enjoying with my friends and family, so I thought this week I would share some things I’m enjoying right now:

This blog post by Sharon Hodde Miller – I have really loved watching Sharon’s ministry grow since I knew her back in her college ministry days. Her thoughts on “effortless perfection” really resonate me, and with what this blog is about. As women, we often feel the pressure to have perfect lives without looking like we try at all, but that’s not what grace and the gospel are about at all. Her post is an encouragement that having to work hard at something is not a sign that there is something wrong with you (everyone is working hard, even if they want you to think they aren’t), and that God’s calling will often lead us to messy, difficult places. It’s also a reminder to me to be careful how I present myself to others. It would be counteractive to mission for this blog if anyone came away from it thinking I have it “all together.”

Marriage Is Funny (podcast) – Podcasts in general are a new favorite thing of mine; I listen to them a lot when I’m doing mundane housework or labwork, and I even listen to them on 1.5x speed so I can fit more in! I’ve been listening to Marriage Is Funny for a little while now, and I’m almost finished listening to all 42 current episodes. Gerard and Jessie spend each one having a conversation related to their marriage and life together. Their faith is so evident in the grace and care they give each other, and their conversations have sparked many excellent conversations between me and Matt, and have helped me think about ways I can grow as a wife. And there is always a good laugh in there too (because marriage is totally funny).

Numi Amber Sun tea – I never thought I would be recommending a tea made with turmeric, but here I am drinking it while I write this post. I actually started using turmeric a bit more in my cooking earlier this year, when I was recovering from gastritis and figured I needed all the help I could get. Then, I won a box of this tea as part of a giveaway for World Fair Trade Day, so I had to give it a try. It’s made with Fair Trade Certified turmeric and rooibos, and also contains cinnamon, vanilla, cardamom, and honeybush. It has a delicious, peppery, chai flavor to it that is great with or without creamer.

The Girls of Atomic City by Denise Kiernan – I am finally getting back into a reading habit lately, and I finally finished this book that my dear husband bought me a year ago. It’s about the women who worked in Oak Ridge, Tennessee, unknowingly contributing to the development of the first atomic bombs. The author interviewed several women who worked in different parts of the facilities, from cleaning floors to operating the machines which enriched uranium. It’s a great read for anyone interested in science history (the main chapters are interspersed with vignettes about the scientific discoveries leading up to and involving the Project), women in science and/or history, or WWII in general.

So, that’s it for now! What are some things you’re loving right now?

Things I'm Loving July 2016

Leave a Reply

